Friday, April 27, 2012

Occupy This Album: Stream tracks from the upcoming benefit compilation

Posted By on Fri, Apr 27, 2012 at 2:09 PM


Although police shut down New York's Occupy Wall Street encampment last fall, related protests continue to crop up around the world. And while the mainstream media may have lost interest in the movement and its issues — actually the mainstream media was never much interested in the actual issues — Occupy's half-life has proven considerably longer than first predicted.

Now, a five-disc Occupy benefit album is bringing together 99 tracks by 99 artists on behalf of the 99 percent. Among them are Amanda Palmer, Ladytron, Patti Smith, Willie Nelson, Ani DiFranco, UNKLE, James McMurtry (with Joan Baez and Steve Earle), Deborah Harry, Thievery Corporation, Toots & the Maytals, Tom Morello, the Mammals (featuring Pete Seeger), the Pimps of Joytime (featuring Roy Ayers), New Party Systems (featuring Kip Malone), Jackson Browne, Yo La Tengo, Dar Williams, Mogwai and Immortal Technique.

While Occupy This Album won't come out until May 15, you can preview five tracks from its five discs below. For more info, head on over to

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Comments (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

Top Topics in IndyBlog

Local News (22)

City Gov (19)

Politics (8)

Arts (6)

County Gov (4)

Recent Comments

  • Re: Media to Trump: Game on

    • Freedom of the Press and Freedom of Speech are both enshrined in the Constitution. Before…

    • on January 19, 2017
  • Re: Media to Trump: Game on

    • Trump to media - Behave and be decent or get slapped down again. The media…

    • on January 19, 2017
  • Re: Media to Trump: Game on

    • A true Journalist will keep Politicians honest and forthright. Think of the many things that…

    • on January 19, 2017
  • More »

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent   |   Website powered by Foundation