Favorite

CannaBiz: July deadline looming for state and centers alike 

Pot, meet kettle

When Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division director Dan Hartman got together with local industry members a few weeks ago regarding the Colorado Department of Revenue's 77 pages of new rules, he heard at least one complaint about the fast-approaching July 1 deadline. Unsympathetic, Hartman replied that the industry had known for months that the requirements were coming.

Kind of funny, considering the government's own state of readiness, says Tanya Garduno, president of the Colorado Springs Medical Cannabis Council.

"If you're [an MMJ] contractor, you also have to get a license now," explains Garduno, referencing folks who install the DOR's required security systems and the like. "So, they've got different vendor licenses that have to go through the state, that don't exactly entirely exist yet."

More, regarding transportation of MMJ between centers: "The way that it's supposed to be set up is, according to the rules, you're supposed to log in to the MMED website; you put all this information into this form; and then you spit out the form, and that's your manifest, and that's how you travel from Point A to Point B. But, um, that website doesn't exist yet."

At least the state is working with centers that are scrambling to come into compliance — which can cost as much as $25,000, when you factor in purchases of security cameras and point-of-sale systems, and employee licensing — before the deadline.

Meanwhile, the Cannabis Council is turning its attention back to Colorado Springs.

"The city, supposedly in the next couple weeks, is going to come up with their fee structure, 'cause it's still not the same one they had before," says Garduno. "And then it also has to be resolution-ed, so we have to go before City Council and talk about it, and hopefully tell them that they're not justified in wanting $10,000 per center."

Keef crumbs

• The Colorado Springs City Clerk's Office will host a public hearing on proposed rules, regulations, application requirements and fees regarding MMJ business licenses at 9 a.m. Friday, June 24, in the City Administration Building (30 S. Nevada Ave., #102).

• Last week, the Colorado Board of Health passed rules mandating that caregivers do more than just grow for their patients, whether their patients want additional services or not. These could include tasks like buying groceries, helping around the house, mowing the lawn, etc. Look for more in the July 14 ReLeaf.

• Using language that mirrors state regulations, Pueblo County commissioners adopted zoning and licensing regulations Tuesday allowing MMJ centers to operate in the county, reports the Pueblo Chieftain.

Send MMJ news to bryce@csindy.com.

  • Also: State issues new caregiver rules, Pueblo passes county regulations and more.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Popular Events

  • Write Your Heart Out @ Marriott

    • Sat., Feb. 4, 1-5 p.m. Free with RSVP
  • Wednesday Morning Painting Class @ Westside Community Center

    • Every other Wednesday, 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. Continues through March 22 $40/class
  • WYNOT Radio Theatre in The Other Coast Caper @ Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center

    • Fridays, Saturdays, 7:30 p.m. and Sundays, 2 p.m. Continues through Jan. 29 $18-$20
  • Oops! @ Millibo Art Theatre

    • Sat., Feb. 4, 11 a.m. & 2 p.m. and Sun., Feb. 5, 1 & 3 p.m. $12-$40
    • Buy Tickets
  • Cabaret Voltaire Showcase @ Millibo Art Theatre

    • Jan. 27-28, 7:30 p.m. $12
    • Buy Tickets

Recent Comments

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent   |   Website powered by Foundation