Favorite

Out of Town 


acoustic, folk & country

Lyle Lovett & his Large Band at Red Rocks, Denver. $39-$49, 520-9090. Sat., June 15, 7:30 p.m.

29th Annual Telluride Bluegrass Festival featuring the Sam Bush Band, Kasey Chambers, Peter Rowan, Emmylou Harris, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Yonder Mountain, David Grisman Quintet, Del McCoury Band and many others. For tickets call 800/624-2422 or visit http://www.bluegrass.com. June 20-23.

Kenny Rogers at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $29.50-$54.50, 520-9090. Sat., June 29, 7:30 p.m.

Delbert McClinton and Jerry Jeff Walker at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $27.50-$45, 520-9090. Sat., July 6, 7 p.m.

Down From the Mountain featuring Alison Krauss & Union Station, Emmylou Harris, Patty Loveless, Ralph Stanley, Ricky Skaggs and many other at Red Rocks, Morrison. $47.50-$67.50, 520-9090. Sun., Aug. 4, 7:30 p.m.

Jamgrass Festival featuring the David Grisman Quartet, Yonder Mountain String Band, Leo Kottke and John Cowan at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $27.50-$45, 520-9090. Sun., Aug. 11, 3 p.m.

4th Annual John Denver Celebration featuring musicians from across the country in Salida, CO. $57 includes admission to all events and two catered meals. Call 719/942-9620. Oct. 5-6.


jazz

The Wynton Marsalis Septet at the Paramount Theater, Denver. $40-$65, 520-9090. Thurs., June 20, 8 p.m.

The Manhattan Transfer at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $30-$60, 520-9090. Fri., June 21, 7:30 p.m.

KOA JVC Jazz Festival at Winter Park. $32.50-$60, 520-9090. On Sat., July 13: Average White Band, Gerald Albright, Peter White. On Sun., July 14: Boney James, Rippingtons, Chris Botti, Pieces of Dreams.

Natalie Cole and George Benson at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $35-$80, 520-9090. Thurs., Aug. 15, 7:30 p.m.


rock, pop & blues

Shanti Groove at the Fox Theater, Boulder. $4, 303/443-3399. Thurs., May 23, 9 p.m.

Tommy Lee at the Ogden Theater, Denver. $25, 800/965-4827. Fri., May 24, 8 p.m.

Jars of Clay at the Filmore Auditorium, Clarkson & Colfax, Denver. $23.50, 520-9090. Fri., May 24, 7:30 p.m.

Blues & Bones Festival featuring Shemekia Copeland, Taj Mahal, Dr. John, Big Bill Morganfield, Richard Johnson, WAR and more at Invesco Field at Mile High. $15-$36, 520-9090. Fri.-Sun., May 24-26.

Big Bill Morganfield at the Annex Ballroom, 509 Main St., Canon City. $10, 719/276-3088. Sat., May 25, 8 p.m.

J Mascis at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $12-$14, 800/965-4827. Sat., May 25, 8 p.m.

Trans Am at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $12, 800/965-4827. Mon., May 27, 8 p.m.

One Love Festival featuring Toots and the Maytals, Luciano, Isreal Vibration, Tanto Metro and Devonte, Stone Love and more at The Fillmore Auditorium, Denver. $25-$27, 520-9090. Thurs., May 30, 6:30 p.m.

Pet Shop Boys at the Auditorium Theater, Denver. $49.50-$60.50, 520-9090. Thurs., May 30, 8 p.m.

American Hi-Fi with Accidental Superhero at the Soiled Dove, Denver. $10, 520-9090. Fri., May 31, 6 p.m.

Beth Orton at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $16.50-$18, 800/965-4827. Sat., June 1, 8 p.m.

Elvis Costello & the Imposters at the Fillmore Auditorium, Clarkson & Colfax, Denver. $35, 520-9090. Sun., June 2, 8 p.m.

Mike Watt at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $12, 800/965-4827. Sun., June 2, 8 p.m.

VHS or BETA at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $8, 800/965-4827. Mon., June 3, 8 p.m.

Trey Anastasio at Red Rocks, Morrison. $35-$37, 520-9090. Mon.-Tues., June 3-4, 5:30 p.m.

Glenn Lewis with Tweet at the Gothic Theater, Denver. $31.55, 520-9090. Tues., June 4, 8 p.m.

Bonnie Raitt at Red Rocks, Morrison. $45, 520-9090. Wed., June 5, 7:30 p.m.

David Wilcox at the Ogden Theater, Denver. $25, 800/965-4827. Fri., June 7, 7 p.m.

Yonder Mountain String Band at Mishawaka Amphitheatre, in the Poudre Canyon. $20, free camping. 520-9090. Sat., June 8, 6 p.m.

Queens of the Stone Age at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $12, 800/965-4827. Sun., June 9, 7 p.m.

The Queers at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $10, 800/965-4827. Tues., June 11, 7 p.m.

Poison, Cinderella, Winger and Faster Pussycat at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $25-$50, 520-9090. Wed., June 12, 6:30 p.m.

Jethro Tull at the Fillmore Auditorium, Clarkson & Colfax, Denver. $30, 520-9090. Wed., June 12, 7:30 p.m.

Barry Manilow at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $49.50-$90, 520-9090. Fri., June 14, 7:30 p.m.

The Get Up Kids at the Ogden Theater, Denver. $16, 520-9090. Fri., June 14, 8 p.m.

The Allman Brothers Band at the Fillmore Auditorium, Clarkson & Colfax, Denver. $49.50, 520-9090. Fri.-Sun., June 14-16, 8 p.m.

INXS at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $29.50-$50, 520-9090. Sat., June 15, 7:30 p.m.

The Samples at Mishawaka Amphitheatre, in the Poudre Canyon. $14, free camping. 520-9090. Sun., June 16, 2 p.m.

Kings X at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $16, 800/965-4827. Wed., June 19, 7 p.m.

Sammy Hagar and David Lee Roth at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $35-$53, 520-9090. Wed., June 19, 6:30 p.m.

Engelbert Humperdinck at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $29.50-$70, 520-9090. Thurs., June 20, 7:30 p.m.

Earth, Wind & Fire at Magness Arena, Denver. $48-$78, 520-9090. Thurs., June 20, 8 p.m.

Mates of State at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $8, 800/965-4827. Fri., June 21, 8 p.m.

Etta James & The Roots Band with The Bobby Murray Blues Band at the Paramount Theater, Denver. $32.50-$39.50, 520-9090. Fri., June 21, 8 p.m.

Simple Minds at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $29.50-$50, 520-9090. Sat., June 22, 7:30 p.m.

Vans Warped Tour 2002 featuring Bad Religion, NOFX, Lagwagon, New Found Glory, Reel Big Fish, Anti-Flag, MXPX, Good Charlotte, Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Hot Water Music, 1208, Alkeline trio and many more at the Adams County Fairgrounds, Brighton. $24.75, 520-9090. Sun., June 23, 11:30 p.m.

Chris Issak and Natalie Merchant at Red Rocks, Morrison. $49.50, 520-9090. Tues., June 25, 7:30 p.m.

Dan Fogelberg Band at Red Rocks, Morrison. $32.50-$37.50, 520-9090. Wed., June 26, 8 p.m.

Acoustic Syndicate at the Fox Theater, Boulder. $10, 303/443-3399. Thurs., June 27, 9 p.m.

Widespread Panic at Red Rocks, Morrison. $35.50, 520-9090. Fri.-Sat., June 28-29, 7 p.m. Sun., June 30, 4 p.m.

Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $10, 800/965-4827. Sat., June 29, 8 p.m.

Meatloaf & Friends at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $27.50-$65, 520-9090. Tues., July 2, 7:30 p.m.

James Brown at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $35-$60, 520-9090. Wed., July 3, 7:30 p.m.

Blues Traveler at Red Rocks, Morrison. $35, 520-9090. Wed.-Thurs., July 3-4, 6 p.m.

String Cheese Incident at Steamboat Springs. $35-$40 or $65-$70 for a two day pass. With Earl Scruggs, Wed., July 3. With James Brown and Corey Harris, Thurs., July 4.

Culture at the Fox Theater, Boulder. $20, 303/443-3399. Thurs., July 4, 9 p.m.

String Cheese Incident with Robert Randolph and the Family Band at Red Rocks, Morrison. $30-$35, 520-9090. Fri.-Sat., July 5-6, 6:30 p.m.

Bruce Hornsby at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $30-$40, 520-9090. Fri., July 12, 8 p.m.

ICP's Big Money Hustlahs at the Bluebird Theater, Denver. $10, 800/965-4827. Fri., July 12, 6:30 p.m.

Jewel with M2M at Red Rocks, Morrison. $41.50-$47, 520-9090. Wed., July 17, 7 p.m.

Sound Tribe Sector 9 at Mishawaka Amphitheatre, in the Poudre Canyon. $20, free camping. 520-9090. Thurs.-Fri., July 18-19, 8 p.m.

KBCO 25th Anniversary World Class Rockfest at Winter Park. On Sat., July 20: Sheryl Crow, Train, O.A.R., Ziggy Marley. On Sun., July 21: Indigo Girls, Jack Johnson, B-52s, William Topley. $48-$118, 520-9090.

Smokin' Grooves featuring OutKast, Lauryn Hill, The Roots, Jurassic 5 and DJ Shadow at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $35, 520-9090. Mon., July 22, 5 p.m.

Lynyrd Skynyrd at Red Rocks, Morrison. $30-$35, 520-9090. Wed., July 24, 7:30 p.m.

Big Head Todd & the Monsters at Red Rocks, Morrison. $35-$40, 520-9090. Sat., July 27, 7:30 p.m.

John Mellencamp at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $38-$68, 520-9090. Tues., July 30, 6:30 p.m.

NedFest 2002 featuring the Charlie Hunter Quartet, Vinyl, Shanti Groove, Tony Furtado & the American Gypsies, Nederland Bluegracid All-Stars, The Motet, Jive, Nederland Acid Jazz, Robert Walter's 20th Congress and more. For details, visit

http://www.nedfest.com. Sat.-Sun., Aug. 3-4.

Area: 2 featuring David Bowie, Moby, Blue Man Group, Busta Rhymes and Ash at the Pepsi center, Denver. $44.50-$79.50, 520-9090. Sat., Aug. 10, 2 p.m.

Michael Bolton at the Paramount Theater, Denver. $69-$89, 520-9090. Thurs., Aug. 15, 8 p.m.

Burt Bacharach and Linda Eder at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $32.50-$70, 520-9090. Fri., Aug. 16, 7:30 p.m.

The Beach Boys at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $27.50-$45, 520-9090. Sun., Aug. 18, 7:30 p.m.

Ozzfest 2002 featuring Ozzy Osbourne, Rob Zombie, System of a Down, P.O.D. and more at the Pepsi Center, Denver. $TBA, 520-9090. Thurs., Aug. 22.

Rush at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $35-$83, 520-9090. Sat., Aug. 24, 7:30 p.m.

Reggae on the Rocks XVI featuring Sly & Robbie, Michael Rose, Marcia Griffiths and more at Red Rocks, Morrison. $35.75, 520-9090. Sat., Aug. 24, 1 p.m.

El Tri and Ozomatli at the Fillmore Auditorium, Denver. $32.50-$45, 520-9090. Sat., Aug. 24, 8 p.m.

Phil Lesh and Friends at Red Rocks, Morrison. $47.50-$50, 520-9090. On Sat., Aug. 31, 4:30 p.m.: with Ratdog and Warren Haynes. On Sun., Sept. 1, 5:30 p.m.: Willie Nelson.

Bow Wow with B2K and IMX at Fiddler's Green, Englewood. $30-$42.50, 520-9090. Wed., Sept. 4, 6:30 p.m.

Don Williams at the Paramount Theater, Denver. $20-$35, 520-9090. Wed., Sept. 18, 9 p.m.

Kansas and America at the Citylights Pavilion, Denver. $25-$42.50, 520-9090. Fri., Sept. 20, 7:30 p.m.


theater

Pierre, adapted from Herman Melville at the Denver Center, Denver. 800/641-1222. Through June 8.

Fiddler on the Roof by the Boulder Dinner Theatre, Boulder. $36.50-$48, 800/448-5501. Through June 2

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Out of Town

Popular Events

  • Maker Fair Holiday Hoopla @ Colorado Springs City Auditorium

    • Sat., Dec. 10, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Free to attend
    • 1 going/interested
  • "You, the Healer: Tap Your Own Innate Healing Power" @ Center for Powerful Living

    • Sat., Dec. 10, 9 a.m.-12 p.m.
  • Old North End Holiday Home Tour (Holiday)

    • Sat., Dec. 10, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. $25
  • Ugly Christmas Sweater Party and Food Drive with Grass It Up @ Front Range Barbeque

    • Wed., Dec. 14, 5 p.m. Free
  • Holiday Market @ Commonwheel Artists Co-op

    • Through Dec. 31

All content © Copyright 2016, The Colorado Springs Independent   |   Website powered by Foundation