Favorite

Short Stories 

click to enlarge Blood Engines  -  - T.A. Pratt  - Bantam Books, $6.99/paperback -  -  - The contemporary urban fantasy genre continues to - grow with first-time author T.A. Pratt's Blood - Engines. In the vein of Jim Butcher's Dresden - Files series, Pratt introduces the reader to Marla - Mason, a tough-talking, perhaps too hard-hearted, - modern-day, city-protecting sorcerer. Along with her - sidekick Rondeau, Marla crosses the country and hits the - streets of San Francisco in order to stop a rival's spell - from ending life as she knows  and likes  it. Getting - into the main thrust of this book takes time; the first - couple of chapters are ultra-confusing. But if you hang - in there long enough, you'll get caught up in all the - craziness. Filled with body-switching sorcerers, magical - sex-ploitations, cannibals and killer frogs, Blood - Engines turns into a roller-coaster ride to the end. -  Kirsten Akens
  • Blood Engines

    T.A. Pratt

    Bantam Books, $6.99/paperback

    The contemporary urban fantasy genre continues to grow with first-time author T.A. Pratt's Blood Engines. In the vein of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files series, Pratt introduces the reader to Marla Mason, a tough-talking, perhaps too hard-hearted, modern-day, city-protecting sorcerer. Along with her sidekick Rondeau, Marla crosses the country and hits the streets of San Francisco in order to stop a rival's spell from ending life as she knows and likes it. Getting into the main thrust of this book takes time; the first couple of chapters are ultra-confusing. But if you hang in there long enough, you'll get caught up in all the craziness. Filled with body-switching sorcerers, magical sex-ploitations, cannibals and killer frogs, Blood Engines turns into a roller-coaster ride to the end. Kirsten Akens

click to enlarge Please Don't Label My Child -  -  - Scott M. Shannon, M.D., with Emily Heckman -  - Rodale, $25.95/hardcover  -  -  - Scott Shannon, the Fort Collins-based child psychiatrist - and former president of the American Holistic Medical - Association, argues in Please Don't Label My Child - that diagnosing children too quickly with ADHD, - depression or bipolar disorder, and giving them relevant - medications, is a lazy technique of categorization that - avoids real analysis or remedy of a child's problems. - Shannon, using research and personal conjecture, claims - the labeling of "disorders" has become so broadly - defined that it's now meaningless. He focuses on ways - children's minds develop and how various external - forces strongly affect how children act. He charges - parents to look more practically at children's eating and - sleeping habits, how much recreation they have, how - they interact with friends  to improve their children's - lives, instead of drugging them into health.  - Matt Martin
  • Please Don't Label My Child

    Scott M. Shannon, M.D., with Emily Heckman

    Rodale, $25.95/hardcover

    Scott Shannon, the Fort Collins-based child psychiatrist and former president of the American Holistic Medical Association, argues in Please Don't Label My Child that diagnosing children too quickly with ADHD, depression or bipolar disorder, and giving them relevant medications, is a lazy technique of categorization that avoids real analysis or remedy of a child's problems. Shannon, using research and personal conjecture, claims the labeling of "disorders" has become so broadly defined that it's now meaningless. He focuses on ways children's minds develop and how various external forces strongly affect how children act. He charges parents to look more practically at children's eating and sleeping habits, how much recreation they have, how they interact with friends to improve their children's lives, instead of drugging them into health. Matt Martin

click to enlarge No Reservations: Around the World on an Empty Stomach  -  - Anthony Bourdain  - Bloomsbury, $34.95/hardcover -  -  - I have a big man-crush on Anthony Bourdain. Not - because he's good-looking  he's not. But because he's - a damn good food writer with a dream job. He's the kind - of guy who gets away with calling other food-show hosts - "fucktard(s)" and calling the French "cranky, contentious, - know-it-all, cheese-eating surrender monkeys." He even - gets paid to stay drunk: "My head feels like a family of - angry bonobo apes has been crapping in it." Based off - the Travel Channel's show of the same title, consider this - a B-side companion with fouler language and intimate - commentary on universal truths  as seen through - foreign food encounters. Gorgeous color photography - fills most of the 288 pages, alongside brief country bios - and entertaining captions. If the wild food shots don't - charm you, Bourdain's wit will.  Matthew - Schniper
  • No Reservations: Around the World on an Empty Stomach

    Anthony Bourdain

    Bloomsbury, $34.95/hardcover

    I have a big man-crush on Anthony Bourdain. Not because he's good-looking he's not. But because he's a damn good food writer with a dream job. He's the kind of guy who gets away with calling other food-show hosts "fucktard(s)" and calling the French "cranky, contentious, know-it-all, cheese-eating surrender monkeys." He even gets paid to stay drunk: "My head feels like a family of angry bonobo apes has been crapping in it." Based off the Travel Channel's show of the same title, consider this a B-side companion with fouler language and intimate commentary on universal truths as seen through foreign food encounters. Gorgeous color photography fills most of the 288 pages, alongside brief country bios and entertaining captions. If the wild food shots don't charm you, Bourdain's wit will. Matthew Schniper

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Short Stories

Popular Events

  • Queer Open Mic Featuring Rock, Paper, Scissors @ Rooted Studio

    • Thu., Dec. 8, 7-9 p.m. Free
  • Visiting Writers Series: Max Early @ CC's Gaylord Hall

    • Wed., Dec. 7, 7 p.m. Free
  • Poetry Heals @ St. Andrew's Episcopal Church

    • Wednesdays, 2:30-4 p.m. Continues through Dec. 7
  • "Mesa of Sorrows: Archaeology, History, and the Ghosts of Awat’ovi Pueblo" @ CC's Cornerstone Arts Center

    • Thu., Dec. 8, 6 p.m. Free
  • The Great Books Club @ Penrose Library

    • Second Thursday of every month, 6:45-9 p.m. Continues through Dec. 31 Free

All content © Copyright 2016, The Colorado Springs Independent   |   Website powered by Foundation