Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Musical chairmanship

Posted By on Tue, Jan 5, 2010 at 4:29 PM

El Paso County Commissioner Dennis Hisey has retaken his former spot as chair of the Board of County Commissioners, ending a year in the wilderness during which Hisey was just, well, one of five county commissioners.

The commissioners decide at the beginning of each year who will serve as chair, which is largely a ceremonial position. Hisey did it last in 2008, and he was followed in 2009 by Commissioner Jim Bensberg.

Commissioner Amy Lathen — who was elected to her first term on the board in 2008 after she was appointed to the seat left vacant when Doug Bruce fumbled and kicked his way through the state Legislature — was picked as vice chair.

In the picture, a smiling Hisey, left, takes the gavel from Bensberg.


Tags: , , , ,



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2018, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation