Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Out-of-this-world teachers

Posted By on Wed, Jan 26, 2011 at 10:04 AM


A third of the 38 outstanding educators chosen by the Springs-based Space Foundation are from Colorado, the foundation announced in a release today.

The teachers, selected for their active promotion of space and science education, were drawn from 37 different schools in 19 states. They will serve as advocates for space science education and will use Space Foundation-provided training and resources to further integrate space curriculum into the classroom.

They'll be recognized at the foundation's 27th National Space Symposium at The Broadmoor hotel from April 11-14.

In its eighth year, the Space Foundation Teacher Liaison program has 360 active participants, including the 2011 Flight. Honorees are selected by a panel comprising experienced Teacher Liaisons and representatives from the space industry and the military, the foundation's release said In addition to the recognition activities, the 2011 Teacher Liaisons will participate in workshops and education programs at the Space Symposium.

Following the Symposium, Teacher Liaisons can take advantage of specialized training and instruction at Space Foundation and NASA workshops with optional graduate-level credit; exclusive science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) professional development experiences with optional continuing education credit; and special space-oriented student programs created just for Teacher Liaisons.

The 2011 Flight of Teacher Liaisons from Colorado:

Colorado Springs
Adam Bentson, Cheyenne Mountain High School
Kendra Brubaker, GLOBE Charter School
Maria Chambers, Otero Elementary
Kellina Gilbreth, Cheyenne Mountain High School
Michelle Ginn, Falcon Virtual Academy
Deborah Haase, Air Academy High School
Gabriel Hammel, Odyssey Elementary
Janine Sangiorgi, Jack Swigert Aerospace Academy
Jami Seabolt, Skyway Park Elementary

John Olson, Evergreen Country Day School

Fort Collins
Crystal Bloemen, Webber Middle School

Manitou Springs
Jaclyn Roberson, Manitou Springs Middle School

Julie Smith, Lewis Palmer High School

Tags: , , ,



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2018, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation