Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Ted vs. Dick

Posted By on Tue, Feb 1, 2011 at 6:42 AM

Sen. Ted Harvey
  • Sen. Ted Harvey
Colorado GOP party chair Dick Wadhams has announced that he plans to run for another term after what could aptly be described as the most embarrassing election for Colorado Republicans that anyone can remember.

Wadhams is apparently either hoping that conservatives won't hold him responsible for that goober of a gubernatorial race last November, or he's banking on the fact that Americans shun history, and likely won't remember all that. (In his defense on that last point, it's remarkable how many people don't remember that this recession began before President Obama took office, or that we invaded Iraq to get WMDs.)

Anyway, it appears not everyone is convinced that Dick's a shoo-in. State Sen. Ted Harvey announced Monday that he also plans to seek the office, and he's willing to give up his Senate seat if he wins.

“Unfortunately, this last election saw the fracturing of our conservative political base, and whether or not it is warranted, Chairman Wadhams has lost the confidence of our grassroots and many of our Republican leaders," Harvey stated in a press release. "We did not raise the money and dedicate the resources appropriately to win the statewide and legislative battles that needed to be won. The Colorado GOP needs a bold new leader that will re-energize our entire Party."

His supporters, some from El Paso County's legislative delegation, include:

Senate Minority Leader Mike Kopp (Jefferson County)
Senate Minority Caucus Chairman Mark Scheffel (Douglas County)
Senate Minority Whip Scott Renfroe (Weld County)
State Senator Kevin Grantham (Southeastern Colorado)
State Senator Kent Lambert (El Paso County)
State Senator Kevin Lundberg (Larimer County)
State Senator Steve King (Mesa County)

House Majority Caucus Chairwoman Carol Murray (Douglas County)
State Representative Cindy Acree (Arapahoe County)
State Representative Mark Barker (El Paso County)
State Representative David Balmer (Arapahoe County)
State Representative Randy Baumgardner (Northwest Colorado)
State Representative Laura Bradford (Mesa County)
State Representative Kathleen Conti (Arapahoe County)
State Representative Don Coram (Montrose County)
State Representative Chris Holbert (Douglas County)
State Representative Janak Joshi (El Paso County)
State Representative Marsha Looper (El Paso County)
State Representative Robert Ramirez (Jefferson County)
State Representative Ray Scott (Mesa County)
State Representative Jerry Sonnenberg (Northeast CO)
State Representative Libby Szabo (Jefferson County)
State Representative Glenn Vaad (Weld County)

Former State Senator David Schultheis (Colorado Springs)

Tags: , , , ,



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2018, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation