Thursday, February 23, 2012

Urban Renewal winners and losers revealed

Posted By on Thu, Feb 23, 2012 at 5:40 PM

Steve Bach
  • Steve Bach
One has to wonder how necessary Mayor Steve Bach's investigation into the Urban Renewal Authority is, now that he's handpicked a majority of the board.

Bach ordered an investigation of the Authority after several run-ins over everything from defaults on loans to questions of overcharging participants. But Bach has already appointed one member of the nine-member board, and he has just selected four more. Each needs the confirmation of City Council.

As might be expected, the city had lots of nice things to say about the new appointees. The city also decided to open up about the process of choosing those appointees. After initially refusing to release a full list of the applicants for the board, the city did so today.

All that information is below, along with the city's release on the issue:

List of Applicants for Colorado Springs Urban Renewal Board

1. Fred Antwerp
2. Grant Ary
3. Greg Barbuto
4. Mark Barrionuevo
5. Charles Bobbitt
6. Aaron Briggs
7. Kitty Clemens
8. Brian Colvert
9. James Egbert
10. Al Feinstein
11. Mike Fenton
12. Gregory Friesen
13. Bill Guman
14. Carla Hartsell
15. Bruce Hughes
16. Jim Kin
17. Robert Kunkleman
18. Michael Leacoe
19. Alan Lovitt
20. Javier Mazzetti
21. Joel Midkiff
22. William Mutch
23. David Neville
24. Wynne Palermo
25. David Pulsipher
26. Jim Ramsey
27. Jim Raughton
28. Bruce Risley
29. Ted Sandoval
30. Robert Shonkwiler
31. David Sunderland
32. Gary Tuckman
33. Robert Tumbelston
34. Jariah Walker
35. William Weiford
36. Brett Wyss

Bold indicates selections.

Mayor Bach makes selections for Colorado Springs Urban Renewal Authority Board

Mayor Steve Bach announced today the selection of David Neville, Jim Raughton, Robert Shonkwiler and Wynne Palermo, to fill the open positions on the Colorado Springs Urban Renewal Authority Board.

David Neville is a Colorado Springs real estate attorney with Kraemer Kendall Benson Rupp Deen, LLC. Neville also worked for Hogan Lovells in their Business, Finance and Tax Practice Group. The former Naval officer and Northwestern graduate is also a member of the Downtown Partnership of Colorado Springs.

Jim Raughton's resume lists urban planning in Aurora, Lakewood, Boulder and Lyons. A planner in private practice for Gathers-Devilbiss Architects and Planners, he was also a member of the Denver Planning Board. Once a consultant in traffic engineering for the City of Boulder, Mr. Raughton also served as the Vice President of the Colorado Community College System. Raughton owns Golden Square LLC, a real estate development company in Colorado Springs.

Robert Shonkwiler's experience spans forty years in Boulder with planning and developing urban infill of business properties, residential condominiums, residential subdivisions, density transfer and conservation easement protections. Instrumental in the creation of the Pearl Street Mall, Mr. Shonkwiler also served as the Chairman of the Board of Boulder's Downtown Management Commission. He was the founding Chair of the Front Range Community College System, he also is a member of the Colorado Springs Planning Commission and the Chair of Mayor Bach's Transit Solutions Team.

Wynne Palermo, a licensed Colorado Springs REALTOR® since 1982, is the CEO and President of her own firm. A Certified International Property Specialist, (CIPS) Mrs. Palermo has also served as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Pikes Peak Association of REALTORS® and Colorado Association of REALTORS®. Her related volunteer work includes developing a partnership with the Greater Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce, Economic Development Corporation & Housing and Building Association known as the Quality Community Group. She also developed the Volunteer REALTOR® Program at Ft. Carson.

"The four people we have selected bring tremendous expertise, fresh ideas and proven community leadership which will be invaluable in moving Urban Renewal Authority forward. It is also gratifying to have so many citizens step forward, offering to serve our City. We now have a pool of talented prospects for other future leadership positions," said Mayor Bach.

Mayor Bach's selections will now go to City Council for confirmation. The five-year terms will begin on April 1, 2012. The list of applicants’ names is attached. Their resumes are available on CD at the City Communications Office.

Tags: , , ,



Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by J. Adrian Stanley

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2019, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation