Friday, April 11, 2014

Bach names C4C Advisory Board

Posted By on Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 4:55 PM

A vision for the future?
  • A vision for the future?

There's a lot of familiar names on the list of members just announced for the City for Champions Regional Tourism Advisory Board.

Mayor Steve Bach's communications department just released his appointment of 16 community members to that board, which will oversee the four tourism projects to be built using state sales tax rebates, program revenue, donations and local tax money.

“These outstanding leaders will bring a wealth of knowledge to the Regional Tourism Authority Advisory Board,” Bach said in a news release. “Their diverse experience and backgrounds will bring a new set of ideas to the table, which through collaboration will further enhance our region’s opportunities for significant tourism growth.”

Bach (City Chief of Staff Steve Cox, Alternate)
City Council President Keith King (City Council President Pro Tem Merv Bennett, Alternate)
El Paso County Commission Chair Dennis Hisey (El Paso County Commission Vice Chair Amy Lathen, Alternate)

Partner Project Representatives
Dick Celeste – United States Olympic Museum
Col. Evan Miller – United States Air Force Academy Visitors Center
Dr. Pam Shockley-Zalabak – UCCS Sports Medicine and Performance Center
Luke Travins – Colorado Sports and Event Center

Community Members
Susan Edmondson – Downtown Partnership
Julian Flores – Young professional/Entrepreneur
Lt. General Mike Gould (USAF-Ret.) – El Pomar Foundation
Becky Medved – Community leader
Doug Price – Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau
Doug Quimby – Attorney/Real Estate Development/RLF
Dan Stuart – Attorney/Community leader
Marvin Strait – Certified Public Accountant/Community leader
Lynn Telford – CEO, Care and Share

Bob Cope - City of Colorado Springs Economic Vitality/City for Champions Project Manager
Jeff Greene – El Paso County Administrator
David Neville – Urban Renewal Authority Chair

*Nominating Committee
Merv Bennett - President Pro Tem, Colorado Springs City Council
Bob Cope - City for Champions Project Manager
Stephannie Finley - Executive Director, UCCS University Advocacy and Partnerships
Jeff Greene - El Paso County Administrator
Amy Lathen - Vice Chair, El Paso County Commission
Doug Price - President, CEO - Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau

The purpose of the RTA Board, as stated in the Section 4-C of the Economic Development Commission proposal, is as follows:
The local Regional Tourism Project Advisory Board (the “Advisory Board”) will advise the Applicant and Financing Entity on matters related to compliance with the Colorado Economic Development Commission’s (“EDC”) approval of the RTA Project application and the requirements of the EDC’s Resolution, including allocating State Sales Tax Increment funding of the City for Champions Project Elements. The Advisory Board will be comprised of the Mayor, the President of the City Council, the Chairperson of the El Paso County Board of Commissioners, a representative of each of the four Project Element Sponsors, and community members appointed by the Mayor who have training or expertise in matters pertaining to the Project or Project Elements.

Tags: , , ,


Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation