Monday, June 2, 2014

Primary ballots are in the mail

Posted By on Mon, Jun 2, 2014 at 12:16 PM

On June 24, voters will choose nominees for a number of state and local races, and in some cases will determine who holds the office.

For example, two Republicans, Mark Lowderman, currently serving his second term as county assessor, and former county commissioner Duncan Bremer, are running for county treasurer. No Democrats are running, meaning whoever wins the primary wins the seat.

So, look for your ballot, which county officials said is now in the mail, and then be sure to mail it in or drop it at one of the places noted below, as outlined by the El Paso County Clerk and Recorder's Office in this news release:

The El Paso County Clerk and Recorder’s Office has mailed 214,133 ballots to voters for the 2014 Primary Election being held on June 24. In accordance with Colorado law, the ballots were mailed only to voters affiliated with one of the three major political parties— American Constitution, Democratic, or Republican Party.

All eligible affiliated voters will be mailed a Primary Election is an all-mail ballot election and the Clerk’s Office has worked hard to give voters many convenient options to return their ballot. Voters are urged to return their ballot early by mail, drop-off box, or at a Voter Service and Polling Center (VSPC). If a voter chooses they may return their ballot by mail ($0.70 is likely adequate postage), but it is not suggested that a voter attempt to return a ballot by mail after Thursday, June 19. A full list of 24/7 ballot drop-off boxes and VSPCs can be found below.

All ballots must be received (not postmarked) by 7:00 PM on June 24.

“We’re excited to be offering such a large number of customer-friendly options for voters to return their ballots in this and all future elections,” said Clerk and Recorder Wayne Williams. “We worked hard to ensure that the vast majority of people were within a short drive of one of our drop-off locations. I am happy to report that 93% of all voters are within ten minutes of one of our eleven 24/7 drop-off boxes. We are extremely appreciative of the cooperation of the various leaders that made it possible for us to establish these eleven permanent locations; namely Manitou Springs Mayor Marc Snyder, Fountain Mayor Gabriel Ortega, Monument Mayors Travis Easton and Rafael Dominguez, Falcon Fire Chief Trent Harwig, and the Pikes Peak Library District.”

The eleven 24/7 ballot drop-off locations are as follows:

1. Main Clerk’s Office at the Citizens Service Center, 1675 West Garden of the Gods Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80907 (drive-up)
2. Downtown Centennial Hall Clerk’s Office, 200 South Cascade Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903
3. Southeast Powers Clerk’s Office, 5650 Industrial Pl, Colorado Springs, CO 80916
4. North Union Town Center Clerk’s Office, 8830 N. Union Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
5. East Library, 5550 N. Union Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80918 (drive-up)
6. Charles C. “Chuck” Brown Transportation Complex, 3275 Akers Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80922
7. Department of Transportation Substation, 1010 Golden St, Calhan, CO 80808
8. Falcon Fire Department, 7030 Old Meridian Rd, Falcon, CO 80831 (drive-up)
9. Fountain Police Department, 222 North Santa Fe Ave, Fountain, CO 80817
10. City of Manitou Springs, 606 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
11. Town of Monument, 645 Beacon Lite Rd, Monument, CO 80132

Aside from the 24/7 drop-boxes, there will be four Voter Service and Polling Centers (VSPCs) available for the Primary. These VSPCs will be able to accommodate changes in voter registration for unaffiliated voters wishing to participate in the Primary, supplying replacement ballots for any voter that needs one, and assisting with other voting related situations. The following locations will be open as VSPCs for the respective dates and times:
Main Office at the Citizens Service Center
1675 West Garden of the Gods Rd, Suite 2202
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Open June 2-June 24; Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Saturday, June 21, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Election Day 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Downtown Centennial Hall Office
200 South Cascade Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Open June 16-June 24; Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Saturday, June 21, 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM; Election Day 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Southeast Powers Office
5650 Industrial Pl
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Open June 16-June 24; Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Saturday, June 21, 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM; Election Day 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM

North Union Town Center Office
8830 N. Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Open June 16-June 24; Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Saturday, June 21, 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM; Election Day 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Tags: , , , ,



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2018, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation