Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Who's earth friendly and who's not

Posted By on Tue, Jun 16, 2015 at 9:53 AM

click to enlarge Coal plants like these keep on chugging. - RENNETT STOWE
  • Rennett Stowe
  • Coal plants like these keep on chugging.
An environmental group has rated the 2015 Colorado General Assembly members on how they stand, and vote, on conservation matters.

To no surprise, many from ultra-conservative El Paso County scored badly. We've highlighted those people below. State Sen. Michael Merrifield, D-Colorado Springs, was among those scoring a perfect 100 percent.
Conservation Colorado announced today the release of its 2015 Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard. The conservation community's goals for the 2015 State legislature were to keep Colorado at the forefront of renewable energy, promote energy efficiency, create innovative measures to encourage water conservation, and safeguard Coloradans’ access to our national public lands.

“Despite broad support for conservation measures, a number of priorities of the 2015 session, including increased energy efficiency in buildings and legalizing the use of residential rain barrels, failed to move forward at the hands of a few legislators in the Colorado Senate,” said Carrie Curtiss, Deputy Director, Conservation Colorado.

“By the same token, continued work with our conservation champions such as House Majority Leader Dicky Lee Hullingtonhorst and Colorado Legislator of the Year Senator Matt Jones, helped us defeat many anti-conservation measures. In the House, we successfully defended against rollbacks of Colorado’s renewable energy standard and attempts to delay the widely supported Clean Power Plan,” said Curtiss.

The 17th annual scorecard recognizes individual legislators for their ongoing leadership and those that stepped across party lines to further conservation. It also highlights key issues facing Colorado and provides an opportunity to see new champions emerge, especially women and Latino legislators who scored higher on average than their colleagues in the Scorecard.

For Conservation Colorado, the 2015 Colorado Legislative Conservation Scorecard provides Coloradans with a way to hold their legislators accountable for their votes during the 2015 legislative session. “Fortunately, the 2015 Scorecard can serve as an important tool for Coloradans. We are hopeful they will use this Scorecard to know their legislators’ conservation score and hold them accountable at upcoming at town halls, in the media, and eventually at the ballot box.”

Fast Facts
The average score was 55%
11 Senators had a score of 100%
Low Scores – Randy Baumgardner (0%),Chris Holbert (10%), Kent Lambert (0%), Vicki Marble (0%), Tim Neville (10%), Ray Scott (0%), Jerry Sonnenberg (10%), Laura Woods (0%)
Senators John Cooke (40%) and Larry Crowder (40%) had the highest scores for Republicans
The lowest score for Democrats were Senators Cheri Jahn and Mary Hodge (80%)
Female Senators had an average score of 68% while the male Senators earned a mere 51%
Latino Senators had an average score of 82%
The average score was 56%
21 Representatives had a score of 100%
Low Scores – Jon Becker (13%), Perry Buck (0%), Brian DelGrosso (13%), Tim Dore (13%), Justin Everett (0%), Stephan Humphrey (13%), Janak Joshi (0%), Gordon Klingenshmitt (13%), Lois Landgraf (13%), Polly Lawrence (0%), Paul Lundeen (0%), Clarice Navarro (0%), Patrick Neville (13%), Dan Nordberg (13%), Kim Ransom (13%), Lori Saine (13%), Lang Sias (0%), Jack Tate (0%), James Wilson (13%)
Representatives J. Paul Brown (50%), Dan Thurlow (50%), and Yeulin Willet (50%) had the highest scores for Republicans
The lowest score for Democrats was Lois Court (75%)
Female Representatives scored 66% on average while the male Representatives scored a 52%
Latino Representatives scored 82%



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in IndyBlog

All content © Copyright 2019, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation