Colorado Springs' Supreme LGBTQ celebration 

Indy Inclusion Awards 2015

Last year, we launched the inaugural Indy Inclusion Awards to honor 10 local individuals and organizations dedicating their days, nights, hopes, dreams and resources to advancing LGBT issues and creating a more accepting and diverse Pikes Peak region. The stories were impactful, the awards ceremony was well-attended, and overall that celebration — on the only rain-free night in weeks — was truly magical. Nearly everyone left saying it was the perfect kickoff to Pride Week, and we agree.

The second annual Indy Inclusion Awards comes at a particularly special time, just weeks after the U.S. Supreme Court's historic and long-overdue decision to legalize gay marriage — now just called marriage — in every corner of the country. Against that backdrop, we honor another set of tireless advocates in our community — leaders in civics, faith, business, government, environmentalism, the nonprofit world, healthcare, sports, the military and the arts.

(Find the 2015 Inclusion Award winners


These folks aren't messing around. Whether testifying from experience at the state Capitol, or quietly advocating behind the scenes to make sure that everyone knows their worth and value, they do so much to advance equality.

We express our gratitude to the winners not only for their passion and tenacity, but for their acceptance of an Indy Inclusion Award. And we thank you for celebrating them and their accomplishments.

To that end, we hope you'll join us from 6 to 10 p.m., Thursday, July 9, at the Briarhurst Manor in Manitou Springs for this year's awards ceremony and White Party in their honor.

We'll do it all again next year with your help, so in June 2016, watch for the nomination form where you can honor someone instrumental in making our community a more open, accepting and understanding place to live, work and play.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Also in Indy Inclusion Awards

Latest in Indy Inclusion Awards

More by Carrie Simison

All content © Copyright 2019, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation