Favorite

Cuisine hopping 

Better bites in broad brush strokes

We have much love for a variety of eateries not covered in the preceding pages; below are a few dozen. Also note that reader-voted Best Of Colorado Springs picks, starting here, can provide you with more dining recommendations, and our restaurant database at csindy.com will allow you to comb through the entirety of the restaurant scene, by cuisine or area of town. Enjoy.

Bar food

Standouts that go well beyond the typical burger and fries include The Public House (445 E. Cheyenne Mountain Blvd., 465-3079), Johnny's Navajo Hogan (2817 N. Nevada Ave., johnnyshogan.com), Oscar's (333 S. Tejon St., oscarstejon.org), SuperNova (111 E. Boulder St., supernovabar.com), Thunder & Buttons II (2415 W. Colorado Ave., thunderandbuttons.com) and The Keg Lounge (730 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, keglounge.com).

Barbecue & Southern

For everything from ribs to gumbo, check out: Bird Dog (multiple locations, birddogbbq.com), Front Range Barbeque (2330 W. Colorado Ave., frontrangebarbeque.com), Bourbon Brothers Southern Kitchen (1321 Bass Pro Drive, bourbonbrotherssouthernkitchen.com), Springs Orleans (123 E. Pikes Peak Ave., springsorleans.com), Culpepper's Cajun Cuisine (6502 S. Academy Blvd., culpeppers.net), BooDad's (819 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs; 5910 Omaha Blvd., boodadsbeachhouse.com) and English Dockside West (1201 W. Colorado Ave., englishdockside.com).

Burgers

For your patty fix, you'd be remiss not to hit up Drifters (4455 Mark Dabling Blvd., 1485 Jamboree Drive, driftershamburgers.com) and Crave Real Burgers (7465 N. Academy Blvd., craverealburgers.com), as well as our vintage roadside stands: BJ's Velvet Freez (1511 N. Union Blvd., bjsvelvetfreez.com), Cy's Drive-In (1833 W. Uintah St., 630-7008) and The Drive In (2309 N. Weber St., 633-0618).

Catch-All

We like Brother Luck Street Eats (1005 W. Colorado Ave., chefbrotherluck.com) for its creative and often porky boundary-pushing, Coquette's Bistro & Bakery (321 N. Tejon St., coquettesbistroandbakery.com) for serving the town's gluten-free needs in style, and Paris Crepe (218 N. Tejon St., 444-0110) for, well, crepes. Add to that Uchenna (2501 W. Colorado Ave., uchennaalive.com) for soul-satisfying Ethiopian excellence, Wines of Colorado (8045 W. Hwy. 24, Cascade, winesofcolorado.com) for grape love, and, among the Concept Restaurants family, the Ritz Grill (15 S. Tejon St., ritzgrill.com) and MacKenzie's Chop House (128 S. Tejon St., mackenzieschophouse.com). 2 Lucho's (2810 S. Academy Blvd., #150, 2luchos.com) holds exclusivity for Peruvian plates, and Rasta Pasta (405 N. Tejon St., rastapastacs.com) for Caribbean fusion.

Chinese

Ivy's Chinese Cafe (11550 Ridgeline Drive #120, ivyschinesecafe.com), Dragon Gate (323 N. Union Blvd., 633-1166) and Silver Pond (6523 N. Academy Blvd., bestsilverpondchinese.com) stand out for stir-fry selections of all varieties.

English & Irish

Hit McCabe's (520 S. Tejon St., mccabestavern.com), Jack Quinn's (21 S. Tejon St., jackquinnspub.com) or Wyatt's Pub & Grill (806 Village Center Drive, wyattspub.com) for everything from fish and chips to Guinness stew.

Filipino

Visit Julie's Kitchen (3750 Astrozon Blvd. #110, 596-4019) or You-Ka Cafe (3743 Bloomington St., you-ka-cafe.tumblr.com) if you've never tried pork adobo.

Indian

When it's an Indian curry you crave, naan and all, India Palace (5644 N. Academy Blvd., indiapalacecoloradosprings.com), Little Nepal (1747 S. Eighth St., 4820 Flintridge Drive, lnepal.com) and Mirch Masala (5047 N. Academy Blvd., mirchmasalaa.com) excel.

Italian

Some places to twirl away: Fratelli (124 N. Nevada Ave., fratelliristorante.com), Roman Villa (3005 N. Nevada Ave., 635-1806), Paravicini's (2802 W. Colorado Ave., paravicins.com), The Villa at Palmer Lake (75 Hwy. 105, thevillapalmerlake.com), Luigi's (947 S. Tejon St., luigiscoloradosprings.com), The Front (1670 E. Cheyenne Mountain Road, thefrontcs.com), and La Bella Vita (4475 Northpark Drive, labellavitaristorante.net).

Jamaican

Jamaican eats like goat curry and jerk chicken are best bitten at Spice Island Grill (10 N. Sierra Madre St., spiceislandgrill.com), Jamaican Flavor (3016 S. Academy Blvd., jamaican-flavor.com) and Island Grill (1107 S. Nevada Ave., #101, 578-1468).

Japanese & Sushi

When a dragon roll enters your daydreams, Japanese and sushi should be sought at Fujiyama (22 S. Tejon St., fujiyamasushi.com), Sushi Ring I & II (1861 S. Nevada Ave., 308-M S. Eighth St., coloradospringssushi.com), Sushi Rakkyo (9205 N. Union Blvd., sushirakkyo.com), Yoo Mae (21 E. Kiowa St., yoomae.com), Tomo (975 N. Academy Blvd., tomosushicoloradosprings.com), Zen Fusion (4359 Integrity Center Point, zenfusionsushi.com) and perennial reader favorite Jun (3276 Centennial Blvd., jun-japanese.com).

Korean

Kimchi cravers will want to hit up Halla San (1231 N. Academy Blvd., 622-9595), San Chang House (3659 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., 598-1707) or Tong Tong (2036 S. Academy Blvd., tongtong.webs.com).

Mediterranean

Mediterranean Café (118 E. Kiowa St., medcafe-co.com), Caspian Cafe (4375 Sinton Road, caspiancafe.com), Heart of Jerusalem (718 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, 4587 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., heartofjerusalemcafe.com), Taste of Jerusalem (15 E. Bijou St., tasteofjerusalemcafe.com) and Jake & Telly's Greek Taverna (2616 W. Colorado Ave., jakeandtellys.com) all have been around for years and fulfill falafel, shawarma or gyro needs beautifully.

Pizza

To punish a pie, try the Poor Richard's complex (320-324½ N. Tejon St., poorrichardsdowntown.com), Joey's (1843 Briargate Blvd., joeysnypizza.net), Ruffrano's Hell's Kitchen Pizza (9 Ruxton Ave., Manitou Springs, hellskitchenmanitou.com) or any Borriello Brothers Real New York Pizza (multiple locations, borriellobrothers.com).

Southwestern

So much could be said for the proliferation of Southwestern and Tex-Mex — hey, did I mention our database online? — so it's hard to only mention La Rosa Southwestern Dining (25 Hwy. 105, Palmer Lake, larosasouthwesterndining.com), Sonterra (28B S. Tejon St., sonterragrill.com) and Crystal Park Cantina (178 Crystal Park Road, Manitou Springs, crystalparkcantina.com) for more upscale interpretations.

Thai

Come Pad Thai-craving time, you'll do quite well for yourself at NaRai (805 Village Center Drive, 120 E. Cheyenne Mountain Blvd., narai-thai.com), Arharn Thai (3739 Bloomington St., arharnthai.net), Chaang Thai (7525 N. Academy Blvd., chaangthaicos.com), Lanna Thai (8810 N. Union Blvd., lannathaicosprings.eat24hour.com), Thai Mint (1725 Briargate Blvd., thai-mint.com), Thai Eats (640 S. Academy Blvd., thai-eats.com) and Thai Satay (821 Cheyenne Meadows Road, thaisataycs.com).

Vietnamese

Due to the recent pho boom, bowls of that broth abound. But for wider Vietnamese offerings, check out Vietnamese Garden (7607 N. Union Blvd., vietnamesegarden.net), Lemongrass Bistro (6840 N. Academy Blvd., restauranteur.com/lemongrassbistro), Saigon Cafe (20 E. Colorado Ave., coloradosaigoncafe.com) and Pho Queen (3748 Astrozon Blvd., 392-0001).

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Also in InSider

Latest in InSider

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation