Democrats line up for 2018 county races 

click to enlarge El Paso County party chair Electra Johnson. - FILE PHOTO
  • File photo
  • El Paso County party chair Electra Johnson.

Democrats filled nearly every candidate slot in El Paso County for 2018 during the El Paso County Democratic Party's assembly on March 31. Given that Republicans rule in one of the most red counties in the nation, it's an accomplishment just to fill the slate, county party chair Electra Johnson says.

"Our county party is beginning to be very organized," she says. "... We're looking at the long game, and reaching out to all the Democrats and unaffiliateds and even Republicans who vote Democrat who've felt they are politically homeless, who cannot tolerate what's going on in Washington, and how it's trickling down across the country."

The Dems' county lineup: sheriff, Grace A. Sweeney-Maurer; assessor, Sue McKnight; clerk and recorder, Yonatan "Jonathan" Herrera and Elizabeth Wilkes; coroner, Matthew Reid; treasurer, Julie Torres; county commission District 1, Frank DeLalla; county commission District 5, Kari Frederick. The surveyor slot will be filled by a vacancy committee. Most of the area's state legislative contests also have Democrats running.

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Latest in Politics

Readers also liked…

More by Pam Zubeck

All content © Copyright 2020, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation