Colorado Springs most authoritative calender Literary Events | Events | Colorado Springs Independent
Favorite

Literary Events 

Colorado College's Visiting Writer Series, featuring Kevin McIlvoy on Thurs., Nov. 10; An Evening of Music and Poetry on Thurs., Nov. 17; Josip Novakovich on Thurs., Dec. 8; Demetria Martinez on Thurs., Feb. 2; Jay Parini on Thurs., Feb. 23; Philip Levine on Thurs., March 9; David Foster Wallace on Thurs., April 6; Chris Bachelder on Mon., April 17; Jim Moore on Thurs., April 27; Peter Matthiessen on Thurs., May 4. All at 7 p.m. Call 389-6853 for more.

Pikes Peak Branch NLAPW Flash Fiction Contest: write a complete short story in no more than 100 words. Open to all ages and genres. Deadline March 1. Call Jaye at 488-3580 for more.

R.A. Salvatore Signing, Media Play, 7720 N. Academy Blvd. Free. New York Times best selling author Salvatore signs and discusses Promise of the Witch-King. Thurs., Nov. 3, 7-8 p.m. Call 860-6800 for more.

Exploring Lives & Cultures Reading Group, East Library's conference room 1, 5550 E. Union Blvd. Free. Members of the American Association of University Women lead discussion on The Trickster and the Troll by Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve. Fri., Nov. 4, 10-11 a.m. Call 535-2646 for more.

The Stinklings Author Signings, Barnes and Noble Booksellers, 1565 Briargate Blvd. Free. Paul McCusker, Kurt Bruner, Al Janssen and Jim Ware sign their new releases. Sat., Nov. 5, 2-4 p.m. Call 266-9945 for more.

Poetry West Workshop, CC's Worner Center, 902 N. Cascade Ave Free. Yousuf Naqvi speaks on "Shatting Myths" and challenges attendees to write a poem that re-interprets an iconic character. Sat., Nov. 5, 10 a.m. to noon. Call 477-1028 or visit poetrywest.org for more.

Meet the Authors Signings, Old Colorado City History Center, 1 S. 24th St. Free. Featuring authors Nancy Atherton, Kathy Brandt, Leland Feitz, Charles Rush, Angel Strong Smits and Sharon Swint at a reception and signing. Sun., Nov. 6, 2-4 p.m. Call 636-1225 for more.

John Fielder Signing, All Souls Unitarian Universalist Church, 730 N. Tejon St. Free, a portion of sales will be donated to the Pikes Peak chapter of the Sierra Club. Fielder, photographer and conservationist, speaks and signs his books. Tues., Nov. 8, 7 p.m. Call 481-0085 for more.

Emerson, Thoreau and Environmental Ethics, CC's Palmer Hall, Gates Common Room, 1025 N. Cascade Ave. Free. Explore the roots of America's environmental consciousness. Wed., Nov. 9, 7:30-9 p.m. Call 471-0910 ext. 105 for more.

Paul Dorrell Signing, Barnes and Noble Booksellers, 795 Citadel Drive East. Paul Dorrell signs and discusses Living the Artist's Life on Fri., Nov. 11, 7 p.m. Call 637-8282 for more.

Kristen Heitzmann Signing, Barnes and Noble Bookselelrs, 1565 Briargate Blvd. Free. Featuring Heitzmann signing and discussing Unforgotten. Sat., Nov. 12, 2-4 p.m. Call 266-9945 for more.

Thin Air Poetry Slam, Cedars Lounge, 3125 Sinton Road. Free. Open to the public, all ages welcome. Every Tuesday, doors open at 7 p.m., slam begins at 7:30 sharp. Call 573-6820 or visit thinairpoetryslam.com for more.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Events

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation