Colorado Springs most authoritative calender Literary Events | Events | Colorado Springs Independent
Favorite

Literary Events 

Poor Richard's Bookstore Events, 320 N. Tejon St. Colorado authors Peter Anderson and Karen Chamberlain will read from and sign copies of their books. Sat., Sept. 30, 3:30-5:30 p.m.Call 578-0012 for more.

"Writing the Poetry of your Life," Benet Hill Center, 2577 N. Chelton Road. $15. Learn to release your inner poet. Sat., Sept. 30, 9:30 a.m. to noon. Call 473-6184 or visit benethillmonastery.org for more.

"Page-Turning Plots," Woodmen Valley Chapel Auditorium, 250 E. Woodmen Road. Free. Learn to write plots that draw readers into the scene and action. Tues., Oct. 3, 6:30-8 p.m. Call 209-9066 for more.

Colorado College Visiting Writers Series, Colorado College, 14 E. Cache la Poudre St. Free. Featuring readings by internationally known authors and poets. Jennifer Tseng, Wed., Oct. 4, 7 p.m. A. E. Stallings, Thurs., Oct. 12, 7 p.m. Diane Thiel, Thurs., Nov. 16, 7 p.m. H.L. Hix, Thurs., Dec. 7, 7 p.m. Robert Mesey, Thurs., Jan 25, 7 p.m. Camille Paglia, Tues., Feb. 6, 7:30 p.m. James Salter, Thurs., Feb. 8, 7 p.m. Tony Moffeit, Sat., Feb 24, 7:30 p.m. Azar Nafisi, Fri., March 30, 7:30 p.m. David Mason, Thurs., April 5, 7 p.m. Peter Matthiessen, Wed., May 2, 7 p.m. Call 389-6853 for more.

"6 Women, 60 Minutes," Gaylon Wampler Fine Art Photography and Gallery, 1810 W. Colorado Ave. Featuring poets Lara Gaydos, Jane Hilberry, Jessy Randall, Lucy Simpson, Karen Sucharski and Jane Wampler. Thurs., Oct. 5, 7-9 p.m. Email 6women60minutes@redeye.org for more.

Exploring Lives and Cultures Reading Group,East Library and Information Center, 5550 N. Union Blvd. Free. Featuring Waist High in the World: A Life Among the Nondisabled, by Nancy Mairs,Fri., Oct. 6, 10-11:30 a.m. American Indian Ballerinas, by Lili Cockerville Livingstonecall, Nov. 3, 10-11:30 a.m. Call 597-7161 or 520-5237 for more.

"The Life of the Bront' Sisters: A Way of Understanding Jane Eyre," UCCS Kraemer Family Library, 3rd Floor Apse, 1420 Austin Bluffs Pkwy. English Department Chair Susan Taylor will examine how events in the Bront' sisters' lives have affected their writing. Sun., Oct. 8, 2-4 p.m. Call 262-3068 for more.

Michael Attie Performance and Signing, Celebration Conscious Living Store, 2209 W. Colorado Ave. Free. The "lingerie monk" will read from Many Ways, Middle Way, No Way: A Guide to Meditation, Spiritual Awakening and Fun. Mon., Oct. 9, 7 p.m. Call 634-1855 for more.

"Alice and Us: Reading Alice in the 21st Century" CC Worner Student Center, Gaylord Hall, 902 N. Cascade Ave. Free. Paul Thomas Murphy will examine the continued vitality of Alice in Wonderland, the featured book for All Pikes Peak Reads 2006. Thurs., Oct. 12, 5:30 p.m.

Adult Great Books Reading and Discussion Group, Penrose Public Library, 20 N. Cascade Ave. Free. Thurs., Oct. 12, 6:45-8:45 p.m. Call 531-6333, ext 1206 for more.

James D. Doss Book Signing, Book Sleuth, 2501 W. Colorado Ave., #105. Doss will sign Stone Butterfly. Thurs., Oct. 12, noon to 1:30 p.m. Call 632-2727 for more.

"Eat Me, Drink Me, Read Me," Smokebrush Foundation for the Arts, 218 W. Colorado Ave. Free. Featuring a receptions and reading of original poems inspired by Alice in Wonderland. Tues., Oct. 17, 7 p.m. E-mail jrandall@coloradocollege.edu for more.

Author's Fest of the Rockies, Business of Arts Center, 515 Manitou Ave. $25. Featuring writing and publishing workshops, panel discussions and more to benefit the Manitou Springs Library. Thurs., Nov. 2, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Call 685-2432 for more.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Events

All content © Copyright 2017, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation