Peak performers 

click to enlarge BRUCE ELLIOTT
  • Bruce Elliott

Rosemary Harris and Richard Conn (pictured) joined fellow Leadership Pikes Peak award recipient Phillip Kendall at the ProRodeo Hall of Fame last month, where all three were recognized for remarkable community stewardship and service.

Leadership Pikes Peak, now in its 30th year as a nonprofit organization, seeks to improve the community by creating strong, civic-minded individuals through leadership development programs. These "community trustees," as they're called, are intended to forge a generation of active, dedicated public leaders.

Harris received the Community Inspiration Leadership Award, in honor of her extensive volunteer efforts over the past 20 years. Harris acts as president for the Colorado Springs NAACP and recently helped organize the collaborative movement to assist Hurricane Katrina victims in our region.

The Modeling the Way Community Leadership Award was presented to Conn for his inspirational ability to draw others into civic engagement and to create effective coalition bodies. During Conn's tenure as Partners in Housing executive director, transitional housing for homeless families has seen a near-tenfold increase, and the Women's Community Leadership Initiative was created to assist low-income women in attaining leadership-building skills.

Kendall earned the Mary Lou Makepeace Community Trustee Award, Leadership Pikes Peak's highest acknowledgment, for his tireless service to a handful of charitable arts- and environment-based organizations, such as The Nature Conservancy and the Colorado Springs Symphony.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Personal Space

All content © Copyright 2018, The Colorado Springs Independent

Website powered by Foundation